AL to pick candidates for next polls based on survey report | 2017-05-08 |

AL to pick candidates for next polls based on survey report

11 independent MPs join ALPP meeting

Sun Online Desk     8th May, 2017 01:11:13 printer

AL to pick candidates for next polls based on survey report

Awami League will pick the party candidates for the 11th parliamentary elections on the basis of a popularity survey report, said some ruling party MP on Sunday.


They said Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, also Awami League President, revealed this while chairing a meeting of Awami League Parliamentary Party (ALPP) at the Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban at night, UNB reports.


11 independent MPs among 16 joined the meeting and Sheikh Hasina introduced them to AL MPs at the beginning of the meeting.


A ruling party MP said the Prime Minister told the meeting that a survey will be conducted in all the parliamentary seats in every six months to know the popularity of local leaders.


She said the party will give those leaders who do well in the survey the nomination for the next election.


Another MP said, "The party chief said those whose names will come up in the survey report will get nomination."


The Prime Minister asked the MPs to narrow the distance between them and grassroots leaders and campaign in favour of the government by portraying the scenario of its development activities on the social media.


The 11 independent MPs who joined ALPP meeting are Abul Kalam Azad (Gaibandha-4), Mohd Salim Uddin Tarafder (Naogaon-3), Md Rezaul Haque Chowdhury (Kushtia-1), Tahjib Alam Siddique (Jhenidah-2), Shawpan Bhattacharjee (Jessore-5), Haji Mohammad Selim (Dhaka-7), Kamrul Asraf Khan (Narsingdi-2), Md Shirajul Islam Mollah (Narsingdi-3), Abdul Matin (Moulvibazar-2), Yusuf Abdullah Harun (Comilla-3) and Razee Mohammad Fakhrul (Comilla-4).


The five other independent MPs who did not join the meeting are Md Mokbul Hossain (Meherpur-2), Rahim Ullah (Feni-3), Ushatan Talukder (Rangamati), Dr Md Rustum Ali Faraji (Pirojpur-3) and Mujibur Rahman Chowdhury (Faridpur-4).