Bangladesh to play New Zealand in Dublin Wednesday | 2017-05-17 |

Bangladesh to play New Zealand in Dublin Wednesday

UNB     17th May, 2017 12:11:11 printer

Bangladesh to play New Zealand in Dublin Wednesday

Representational Pic

Visiting Bangladesh will play their 2nd match of the Ireland Tri-Nation Cricket Series against a youthful New Zealand at Clontarf Cricket Club Ground in Dublin on Wednesday. The match will kick off at 3:45 pm (Bangladesh time).


Bangladesh, which never beat New Zealand in an away or neutral venue in 15 matches, are very much keen to set that record straight.


New Zealand made a good start in the Tri-Nation series beating hosts Ireland by 51 runs while opening match between Bangladesh and Ireland was washed out due to rain on last Friday where Bangladesh lost wickets on either side before Tamim Iqbal and Mahmudullah made a recovery.


In Irish conditions suited to seam bowling, how Bangladesh cope with New Zealand's inexperienced but promising pace attack will be the key.


A good number of senior cricketers including New Zealand regular captain Williamson will not play against Bangladesh on Wednesday.


They will also be wary of New Zealand's middle order striking form, although both George Worker and Ross Taylor were not quite fluent during their half-centuries against Ireland.


New Zealand are likely to continue with Luke Ronchi as opener, giving the batsman freedom to hit out in order to ease the pressure on the middle order.


Mashrafe Mortaza will return from over-rate suspension, at the expense of possibly Rubel Hossain.

Apart from that change, Bangladesh may want to persist with the XI they picked for the first match, which was abandoned.


Adam Milne is likely to be available for selection, having joined the team last week. He could replace Ish Sodhi if New Zealand opt to boost their pace attack in what are likely to be seaming conditions.


Bangladesh: (probable) Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Shakib Al Hasan, Mosaddek Hossain, Mahmudullah, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (capt) and Mustafizur Rahman


New Zealand: (probable) Luke Ronchi (wk), Tom Latham (capt), George Worker, Ross Taylor, Neil Broom, James Neesham, Colin Munro, Scott Kuggeleijn, Mitchell Santner, Seth Rance and Adam Milne/Ish Sodhi