Bangladesh beats Ireland by 8 wickets | 2017-05-19 |

Ire V Ban, Tri-Nation Series

Bangladesh beats Ireland by 8 wickets

Sun Online Desk     19th May, 2017 09:51:57 printer

Bangladesh beats Ireland by 8 wickets

Bangladesh cricket team on Friday outplayed Ireland by eight wickets in their third match in Tri-Nation ODI series in Malahide in Dublin.


Bangladesh speedster Mustafizur Rahman and opener Soumya Sarkar had powered enough to help Bangladesh cruise to their first win in the tri-series sinking host Ireland so easily.


Firstly, Mustafizur Rahman's spell that accounted for the cream of Ireland's batting wrapped in 181 runs. Ireland, sent in to bat, were bowled out for 181 in 46.3 overs with Mustafizur taking 4 for 23 off nine overs.


Soumya Sarkar struck his second successive half-century—87 off 68, was unbeaten as Bangladesh cruised home by eight wickets in the 28th over.


Ireland's inability to convert starts - three batsmen made 25 or more while one other made 22 - resulted in them losing wickets in clumps.

They lost Paul Stirling in the first over, but recovered briefly and were 60 for 2 in the 14 overs before Andy Balbirne played all around Shakib Al Hasan delivery and was out lbw. In a nine-over spell courtesy spin, Ireland managed just 31.


The only semblance of resistance came when Ed Joyce, who top scored with 46, and Niall O'Brien put together 55 for the fourth wicket. Mustafizur returned to dismiss O'Brien to expose the lower middle order with 22.3 overs still to play.


George Dockrell's patient 50-ball 25 lifted them to 181 before Mashrafe Mortaza, the captain, brought the innings to a close with the wicket of Dockrell and Peter Chase. Mashrafe and Sunzamul Islam, the debutant left-arm spinner, finished with two wickets apiece.


Bangladesh's openers - Tamim Iqbal and Sarkar - started steadily, before they went into overdrive in the ninth over when Sarkar blasted Barry McCarthy for two fours and a six. Tamim, generally the aggressor, built steadily to make 47 before the O'Brien brothers combined to break a 95-run stand. Tamim, looking to run the ball down, could only get a faint nick through to the wicketkeeper.


Sabbir Rahman didn't take long to get into his groove, making an enterprising 35, which included three fours and a six, before falling with Bangladesh 10 short of victory. Sarkar carried his bat through to finish with an unbeaten 68-ball 87 and see Bangladesh home in Mushfiqur Rahman's company.


Both teams made a change each to the XIs from their previous matches. Bangladesh handed a debut to 27-year-old left-arm spinner Sunzamul Islam, who replaced Mehedi Hasan in the XI. Sunzamul, who is also a handy lower-order batsman, was a part of Bangladesh's ODI and T20I squads on their recent tour of Sri Lanka but did not get a game in either format.


Ireland welcomed Ed Joyce back after the batsman had missed the first two games due to a back niggle. Simi Singh, who made his debut against New Zealand, made way for Joyce.


Ireland, too, were in search of their first win in the tournament. The series opener in Malahide last week between the two teams was washed out with only 31.1 overs of play possible. Rain remains a threat for this game, too, with a few showers predicted for late afternoon.


Ireland: 1 William Porterfield (capt), 2 Paul Stirling, 3 Ed Joyce, 4 Niall O'Brien (wk), 5 Andy Balbirnie, 6 Kevin O'Brien, 7 Gary Wilson, 8 George Dockrell, 9 Barry McCarthy, 10 Tim Murtagh, 11 Peter Chase


Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Soumya Sarkar, 3 Sabbir Rahman, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 5 Shakib Al Hasan, 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Mosaddek Hossain, 8 Sunzamul Islam, 9 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), 10 Rubel Hossain, 11 Mustafizur Rahman