AL looking for leaders with clean image | 2017-06-13 |

Next Parliamentary Elections

AL looking for leaders with clean image

Shawkat Ali Khan     13th June, 2017 12:38:48 printer

AL looking for leaders with clean image

The ruling Awami League is looking for some leaders with clean political image to field them in the next national polls to pave the way for its coming to power for the third consecutive time.


Insiders said the party will nominate new faces in some constituencies where incumbent lawmakers have become unpopular and controversial for their various misdeeds.


As BNP is likely to contest the next parliamentary elections, the AL will select candidates by judging their quality, merit and popularity in their areas, they said.


Awami League President Sheikh Hasina, also the Prime Minister, has already declared that nominations will be given to party aspirants on the basis of opinion polls.


Party general secretary Obaidul Quader on Saturday said they will give nominations to the party leaders after analysing their acceptability and popularity in their areas.


“Those, who are acceptable to the people in the opinion polls, will be given party tickets for contesting the next. No unpopular partymen will be given nominations,” he said.


Former student leaders have become active in their areas as some incumbent AL ministers and lawmakers is unlikely to get party nominations for the next polls.


These leaders have strong influence in their respective areas. They have already started campaign to woo voters, sources said. 


Besides highlighting their activities, they are working to drum up people’s   opinion in favour of the party’s electoral symbol ‘boat’.


It is learnt from party sources that after the prime minister’s announcement, some ministers and lawmakers have started visit to their areas on a regular basis.


As the election is drawing nearer, a section of ministers and lawmakers are making efforts to get nomination for the parliamentary polls, the sources added.


Besides, many enthusiastic party leaders and activists are thronging the AL president’s political office at Dhanmondi and Ganbhaban, sources at the party said.


It is learnt that former Bangladesh Chhatra League (BCL) president Mostafa Jalal Mahiuddin will seek nomination for Dhaka-7 constituency.


Alhough Mostafa contested the 10th parliamentary elections with ‘boat’ symbol, he was defeated by an independent candidate Haji Mohammad Selim.


Former BCL acting president Shahe Alam Murad will seek nomination from Barisal-2 constituency.


BCL former general secretary and AL cultural affairs secretary Asim Kumar Ukil may get the ticket from Netrakona-3 constituency. Iftekhar Uddin Pintu is the incumbent lawmaker.


Former student leader Shafi Ahmed will seek nomination for Netrakona-4 constituency against incumbent lawmaker Rebecca Momin.


AL organising secretary Ahmad Hossain may get nomination for Netrakona-5 constituency. Waresat Hussain Belal has been representing the constituency for the last two times. 


Former BCL president Mainuddin Hasan Chowdhury will seek nomination for Chittagong-15 constituency. Besides, AL deputy press and publication affairs secretary Aminul Islam Amin will seek nomination to contest from the same constituency. Abu Reza Mohammad Nadvi is the incumbent lawmaker from the constituency.


Former JUCSU vice-president and AL organising secretary AKM Enamul Haque Shamim may get nomination from Shariatpur-2 constituency. The incumbent lawmaker is former deputy Speaker Shawkat Ali.


BCL former general secretary Ishak Ali Khan Panna will seek nomination for Pirojpur-2 constituency. Jatiya Party (JP) chairman Anwar Hossain Manju is the incumbent lawmaker from the constituency. He has been serving the government as forest and environment minister.


Balaram Poddar will seek nomination from Barisal-3.


Former student leader and AL central leader SM Kamal Hossain will seek nomination for Khulna-3 constituency against the incumbent lawmaker Munnujan Sufian.


BCL former president Bahadur Bepari will seek nomination for Shariatpur-3 constituency. Late national leader Abdur Razzak’s son Nayeem Razzak is the incumbent lawmaker from the constituency.


BCL former acting president and AL central leader Marufa Akhter will seek nomination for Jamalpur-5 constituency.


BCL former general secretary and PM’s APS Saifuzzaman Shekhar will seek nomination from Magura-1 constituency.


AL central leader Sujit Nandi will seek nomination for Chandpur-3 constituency against the incumbent lawmaker and party’s joint general secretary Dipu Moni.


BCL former president Liakat Shikder will seek nomination for Faridpur-1. AL joint general secretary ABdur Rahman is the incumbent lawmaker of the constituency.


Shahjada Mahiuddin will seek nomination from Chittagong-13 against the incumbent state minister for land Saifuzzaman Javed.


Zahiruddin Mahmud Lipton will seek nomination from Feni-3.