India win toss, ask Pakistan to bat | 2017-06-18 |

India win toss, ask Pakistan to bat

Sun Online Desk     18th June, 2017 03:13:58 printer

India win toss, ask Pakistan to bat

In what is going out to be a keenly-watched match, Virat Kohli has won the toss and elected to bowl against Pakistan in the ICC Champions Trophy final at The Oval in London on Sunday.


India are fielding the same playing XI which defeated South Africa and Bangladesh (in the semifinal) as R Ashwin, who had hurt his knee during practice on the eve of the final, is taking field.


Pakistan, meanwhile, have brought back Mohammed Amir, who could not feature in Pakistan's playing XI in the semifinal win against hosts England.


"Nice and hard wicket. There's a fresh wicket, even grass covering and we'd like our bowlers to exploit it.

Then we like chasing. No matter the conditions, you have to play good cricket,” said Kohli after winning the toss.


“One more effort to go. I'm sure the guys will give it their best shot. If you make the finals, you've played really good cricket. We don't take oppositions for granted and today is no different. No matter what they bring, we are believing in our abilities," added the Indian skipper as India field an unchanged team.


India Team


RG Sharma, S Dhawan, V Kohli*, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni†, KM Jadhav, HH Pandya, RA Jadeja, R Ashwin, B Kumar, JJ Bumrah


Pakistan Team


Azhar Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed*†, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali, Junaid Khan