35 more upazilas under 100pc power coverage | 2017-09-12 | daily-sun.com

35 more upazilas under 100pc power coverage

Shamim Jahangir     12th September, 2017 02:01:01 printer

35 more upazilas under 100pc power coverage

Bangladesh Rural Electrification Board (REB) has brought another 35 upazilas under 100-percent electricity coverage.


“We are waiting for the Prime Minister’s time to inaugurate the 100-percent electrification of the new upazilas through video conferencing,” REB Chairman Major General Moin Uddin told the daily sun on Monday.


He also said the government will be able to achieve the cent percent rural electrification coverage by 2018. REB is currently receiving around 4,500MW of electricity against the demand of 5,500MW. The shortfall causes load shedding of 1,000MW per day in rural areas.


“We have a shortfall of electricity supply in rural areas,” the REB chief admitted.


Last month, Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) has instructed the Power Division to maintain a balance in load management as the rural areas have been facing far more load shedding than the urban areas. 


“Load shedding in the areas under Rural Electrification Board and other distribution companies has to be distributed at a proportionate rate considering the demand and supply,” the government high-ups instructed the authorities at a recent meeting at the PMO.


However, the National Load Dispatch Centre (NLDC) is not giving much attention to the issue, REB officials have alleged. 


The REB chairman raised the issue of the disparity in power distribution at the meeting, arguing that the areas under REB have been facing more load shedding.


REB is now supplying electricity to 1.91 crore consumers under 78 Palli Bidyut Samity.


The 35 new upazilas brought under 100-percent electricity coverage are: Harirampur of Manikganj, Dhamrai of Dhaka, Charbhadrasan of Faridpur, Nikli of Kishoreganj, Rajoir of Madaripur, Belabo of Narsingdi, Madan of Netrokona, Chauhali of Sirajganj, Akhaura, Ashuganj and Brahmanbaria Sadar of Brahmanbaria, Raozan and Patiya of Chittagong, Nachol of Chapainawabganj, Bagatipara of Natore, Bera of Pabna, Meherpur and Durgapur and Paba of Rajshahi, Kamarkhanda of Sirajganj, Pirganj of Rangpur, Khoksa of Kushtia, Shalikha Magura, Debhata of Satkhira, Adamdighi, Dhupchanchia and Bogra Sadar of Bogra, Faridpur Sadar, Goalanda of Rajbari, Rupsha, Phultala and Dighalia of Khulna, Meherpur sadar and Pirojpur.