p Pakistan win toss, opt to field against Australia | 2019-06-12

Pakistan win toss, opt to field against Australia

Sun Online Desk

12th June, 2019 03:18:29 printer

Pakistan win toss, opt to field against Australia

Pakistan won the toss and chose to bowl first against Australia in the 17th match of the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2019 at The Cooper Associates County Ground in Taunton on Wednesday.

After starting the World Cup with a 7-wicket defeat against West Indies, Pakistan had a thumping win over England and shared one point with Sri Lanka as rain washed out the match. Today inspired Pakistan are facing Australia in their 4th game in this world cup.

Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed said the wicket looks helpful for the bowlers and that’s why they have opted to bowl first.

“There's a bit of grass and moisture on the pitch, so we need to take advantage of that. Unfortunately, we couldn't play the last game, but we practised hard in the last few days so the momentum is very high for us. Shadab Khan will sit out today and Shaheen Afridi comes back for us,” Sarfraz told the broadcaster while performing the toss.

Pakistan will wear a black band in this match in honour of Riazuddin, a Pakistani Test umpire, who recently passed away.

Aaron Finch, the Australian captain, also said had he won the toss, he would have decided to bowl first as well.

“We would have bowled first too. A hint of green and some moisture in the wicket. We have to wait and see what the wicket plays like. I expect some swing and seam movement. Marcus Stoinis is out with a side-strain, Shaun Marsh comes in for him, and Kane Richardson comes in for Adam Zampa,” Finch told the broadcaster.

Before coming to this match, Pakistan’s last match against Sri Lanka was washed away due to persistent rain. Australia, on the other hand, lost their last match against India. 

Australia 1 David Warner, 2 Aaron Finch (capt), 3 Usman Khawaja, 4 Steven Smith, 5 Shaun Marsh, 6 Glenn Maxwell, 7 Alex Carey (wk), 8 Nathan Coulter-Nile, 9 Pat Cummins, 10 Mitchell Starc, 11 Kane Richardson

Pakistan 1 Imam-ul-Haq, 2 Fakhar Zaman, 3 Babar Azam, 4 Mohammad Hafeez, 5 Sarfaraz Ahmed (capt & wk), 6 Shoaib Malik, 7 Asif Ali, 8 Wahab Riaz, 9 Hasan Ali, 10 Shaheen Afridi, 11 Mohammad Amir