Tenures of DU BCL, JCD committees expire | 2017-08-10 | daily-sun.com

Tenures of DU BCL, JCD committees expire

Dissatisfaction grows among aspirants

NH Sajjad     10th August, 2017 01:29:58 printer

Tenures of DU BCL, JCD committees expire

A group of students of Dhaka University (DU) take out a cycle procession from TSC on Wednesday to drum up support for their demand for immediate DUCSU election.sun photo

Dissatisfaction grows among leaders and activists of Dhaka University (DU) units of Bangladesh Chhatra League (BCL) and Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal (JCD) as tenures of the present committees of both the student organisations have already expired.

Sources said 13 months have already elapsed since the expiry of the tenure of DU BCL committee but no one can say exactly when the new committee will be formed.

On the other hand, the tenure of JCD’s DU unit has expired eight months ago.

Leaders and activists of JCD staged demonstrations as the organisation failed to announce full committee.
BCL Committee

On June 18 in 2015, the central committee of BCL announced its DU unit committee with Abid Al Hasan and Motahar Hossain Prince as president and general secretary respectively.

According to the BCL constitution, the tenure of its DU committee is one year. So, the present DU committee expired on June 17, 2016.
After one-year period, new DU committee should be formed through the conference within 90 days. However, these rules are being violated by them under various pretexts.

The university committee is equivalent to district committee. According to the section 10 (b) of the constitution of BCL, the district unit tenure is one year. Within this period, the newly elected leaders will take their responsibilities. The duration can be extended up to 90 days under special circumstances with the approval of the central executive committee.

If the conference is not held during this time, the district committee would not exist. In that case, the central executive committee will form convening or adhoc committee and take the responsibility to arrange the conference within 90 days.

The convening or adhoc committee will not exist if they cannot hold the conference within the stipulated time. In that case, the election will be held under the direct supervision of the central executive committee.

The previous university committee has also violated its constitution and led the university three years instead of one year.

Contacted, BCL president Saifur Rahman Sohag said, “We will announce the university committee as soon as possible. We are now busy forming the new committees through the conference across the country. Hopefully, we can get the university committee soon.”
JCD committee


In October 2015, the new committee of DU unit JCD was formed with Al-Mehedi Talukdar and Abul Bashar Siddique as president and general secretary respectively.

Although the tenure of present committee expired in October 2016, the new committee has not been formed. Even Dhaka University Chhatra Dal could not announce its full committee within the fixed time.

Demanding fresh Committee, JCD leaders and activists staged demonstration in front of BNP chairperson Gulshan office in the capital.

During the current government’s tenure, no activities of JCD were seen at the country’s oldest university.

On January 18 in 2010, a number of JCD and BCL men were injured in a triangular clash. After the clash, JCD leaders and activists remained inactive on the DU campus. They cannot create an atmosphere to entry to the DU campus.

Talking to the daily sun, DU JCD secretary Abul Bashar Siddique said, “They cannot enter the campus due to the restrictions of BCL and police.”
All the members of JCD’s DU unit are students of the university, he said.

However, he refused to make any comment about the tenure of the present committee.